FHN Community Learns to Adjust to COVID-19 Situation

 March 13, 2020 was the last day before spring break, but due to COVID-19 it also turned out to be the last day of school for the entire FHSD district. Unfortunate, tragic and unfair along with other adjectives could be used to describe the unprecedented situation. In a time like this it’s certain to say society is learning how to adapt to the changes. In the FHN community, students and teachers have shared how this situation has put certain things in perspective for them.

 

“ At the time, I thought it wasn’t that dangerous yet in Missouri,” sophomore Jessica Chavez Alvarado said. “It seemed like the disease wasn’t affecting too many people. Now this is affecting everything in many ways,  we’re learning new ways to be patient. Right now I am grateful for the little things like being able to breathe and my health.”

 

Appreciating ordinary things like going to work and seeing friends has been something to think about during social distancing. Senior Alex Ortiz who works at Dierbergs is finding it ironic that he is now seen as an “essential worker” since the pandemic started because he was just an ordinary worker before. Hanging out with friends is an obstacle that he faces which has changed the way he values his time with friends.

“With work I didn’t think that I was important,” Ortiz said. “I thought it was just a job, now they’re calling us essential workers, and I’m like, am I really that important? Why am I getting this title now? I didn’t know that before spring break started, I was experiencing my last day of high school, and now I wish I could’ve seen into the future and I would’ve spent less time stressing and more time appreciating the moment. I thought I had the fourth quarter to just relax and wind down with friends and classmates. As a senior, I won’t be able to stand by the traffic light and wave goodbye to the buses.” 

 

Going to school is part of a daily routine that now has turned into opening up a laptop and starting the day at “school”. The atmosphere of in class learning is an aspect that makes education important as it makes students’ day more interactive with friends, teachers and clubs or sports. Junior Riya Contractor reminisces on what she misses most about school and how other plans of hers have been put on  hold.

 

“ I do a lot of stuff with NHS, FBLA, MAC Scholars and  student council,” Contractor said. “For NHS we’ve done zoom meetings once or twice a month just to check in and find ways for more students to earn their points even when at home. I miss seeing my friends and teachers, I just miss that social interaction a lot. I really appreciate teachers for putting in the effort to make learning interactive even though we’re separated. This affected a lot of summer programs I Wanted to go to or like the ACT and SAT all of that will be pushed back.It shouldn’t have come to this for us to realize what we were taking for granted.”

The adjustment to change hasn’t just been hard for students, but teachers as well. Marketing I and II teacher Loori Moore has been able to take all the sudden changes and tried her hardest to turn them into positive changes for her family, students and herself. 

 

“You are stronger than you think!” and “Be the reason someone smiles today!” are two phrases that keep me going,” Moore said. “This new life is hard, but has its perks, too. I love having extra family time and I love teaching my girls.Through email, I am still getting the chance to talk with my students, and some are more open and honest through email than in person. I also try to bring fun into every day for my family and those around me. There is nothing that we can do, so we might as well make some memories and make the best of it.”

 

 

 

Leave a comment